Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Environmental Health Officer Professional Advisory Committee

Welcome to the Environmental Health Officer Professional Advisory Committee's (EHOPAC) website!

EHOPAC Vision Statement

To be a trusted source of high-quality resources and services that successfully empower EH professionals to be the best PHS Officers they can be. 

EHOPAC Leadership Welcome Message

Greetings and Welcome to the 2023 Operational Year!

CDR Erin Evans, EHOPAC Chair

The Environmental Health Officer Professional Advisory Committee (EHOPAC) welcomes you to our website and the 2023 Operational Year! As the 2023 EHOPAC Chair, it is my privilege to work alongside such a dedicated and talented group of EHOPAC Voting Members and Volunteers in service to our category. Together we are committed to navigating these challenging times. I am constantly inspired by the dedication, resilience, and unwavering commitment to excellence that is shown, by the Voting Members and volunteers of the EHOPAC and also by our category’s officers stationed across the country. This year, let us come together to create an environment where we all can thrive and succeed no matter what challenges come our way. Together we will lead in the face of uncertainty, and think boldly about our future in the Corps. Most importantly let us support each other, and create a culture of collaboration and excellence as we strive to achieve our mission to be a trusted source of high-quality resources and services that successfully empower environmental health professionals to be the best PHS officers they can be. We look forward to working with you all this year.                                          

Your 2023 EHOPAC Executive Committee:

  • CDR Erin Evans, EHOPAC Chair
  • LCDR Steve Galvez, EHOPAC Chair Elect
  • CAPT Jessica Havranek, EHOPAC Immediate Past Chair
  • LT Braden Hickey, EHOPAC Secretary
  • CDR Katie Bante, EHOPAC Executive Committee Liaison
  • LT Kathryn McNamara, EHOPAC Special Assistant to the Chair

Your 2023 EHOPAC Voting Members and Subcommittee Chairs:

  • Awards and Recognition – LCDR Beth Wittry
  • Communications – CDR Michelle Dittrich and LCDR Sandra Carpio
  • History – CDR Martin Smith and CDR Bill Bird
  • Information Technology – LCDR Mark Otto
  • Mentoring and Career Development – CDR Candis Hunter and LCDR Laura Annetta
  • Readiness – CDR David Bales and CDR Charlie Darr
  • Recruitment and Orientation – CDR Corey Butler and LCDR Doug Erling
  • Training and Events – LCDR Sam Frank and LCDR Krista Ferry        

Below are the number of ways to keep tabs on our activities and to plug-in throughout the year. We look forward to hearing from you!

  • We hope that you will mark your calendars to participate in our quarterly open EHOPAC meetings this year from 1300 - 1500 ET
    • Spring Meeting: 14MAR
    • Summer Meeting: 13JUN
    • Fall Meeting: 12SEP
    • Winter Meeting: 12DEC 
    • Details regarding call-in and webinar information will be sent by LT Hickey over the EHOPAC Listserv prior to each meeting.



EHOPAC Award Winners

The awards were presented at the USPHS Scientific and Training Symposium in May 2023. Please continue reading for this year's award winners!

– John G. Todd Award –

The John G. Todd Award is the highest honor given by the EHOPAC. The award recognizes an exemplary senior-level environmental health professional for significant career contributions in achieving the PHS mission of improving the Nation's health through the practice of environmental health.

– 2022 EHO Responder of the Year Award –
CDR Leslie Jackanicz


The purpose of the EHO Responder of the Year Award is to recognize excellence by individuals in achieving the U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS) mission of improving the Nation’s health through the practice of environmental health during emergency preparedness, disaster response, and contributions to national or international public health threats.

CDR Leslie Jackanicz is awarded the Responder of the Year award for exceptional environmental health expertise and leadership in support of Ft. Bliss Emergency Intake site for unaccompanied migrant children. Over the course of the mission, on behalf of the USPHS Commissioned Corps, CDR Jackanicz served as Deputy Site Lead and Officer in Charge at the largest Emergency Intake Site in the country for unaccompanied migrant children. CDR Jackanicz supported the Site Lead in overseeing all aspects of site operations to ensure the health, safety, wellbeing, and successful reunification of children on site. Among many of her accomplishments, she facilitated congressional site visits, developed and insitituted a framework for establishing records management program, and implemented enhancements to the identification, requisition, and training of key personnel resulting in the filling of over 90% of the assigned billets for federal staff. She utilzed her environmental health expertise to oversee field safety activites, such as: leading risk assessments; verifying proper PPE fit, use, and availability procedures; and implementing COVID-19 mitigation measures. These activities protected organizational health and ensured mission accomplishment targets were met. 

CDR Jackanicz's work exemplifies the highest traditions of the Environmental Health category and demonstrates the USPHS Commissioned Corps mission to protect, promote, and advance the health and safety of our Nation. 

 – Edward (Ted) Moran Award –

The Edward (Ted) Moran Award recognizes an outstanding mid-level environmental health professional who consistently achieves high standards in the practice of environmental health, occupational health and safety, industrial hygiene, or radiological health.

 – John C. Eason Award 

The John C. Eason Award was established to recognize the accomplishments of talented newcomers to the field of environmental health and moreover, to recognize the promise these individuals hold for the future of the Public Health Service.

 – Thomas E. Crow Mentor Award –

The Thomas E. Crow Mentor Award recognizes significant contributions by an individual who has enhanced professional growth and career development of environmental health professionals working in the U.S. Public Health Service by serving in a mentoring capacity.

Contact Us

EHOPAC Anonymous Feedback | Facebook | LinkedIn



Page Last Modified on 5/17/2023

You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

External Link Warning!