Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity Advisory Group


Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity Advisory Group (SOAGDAG)


Provide advice and consultation to and on behalf of the United States Public Health Service (USPHS) Surgeon General related to:

  • Issues of interest to and concern of LGBT officers, and other sexual and gender minorities and their allies in the USPHS.
  • Issues related to Commission Corps (CC) personnel policies and practices relevant to LGBT officers.
  • Provision of LGBT-competent health care by CC healthcare providers.


We invite you to join the Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity Advisory Group (SOAGDAG) in its endeavors to expand the visibility, impact, and role of LGBT Officers in the USPHS and raise awareness about critical public health issues the LGBT community.

SOAGDAG membership consists of voting and non-voting members. There may be up to 20 voting members, and an unlimited number of non-voting members. All non-votimg members are welcome to serve on subcommittees and be active in helping SOAGDAG achieve its mission.

Currently, voting members are nominated and appointed to SOAGDAG. Voting members must be:

  • Active Duty Commissioned Corps Officers who meet Office of Force Readiness Deployment (OFRD) basic readiness standards.
  • Interested in LGBT Issues to further the SOAGDAG mission.
  • Activly participating in one of SOADAG subcommittees while serving as a voting memeber.

Subscribe to the SOAGDAG Listserv

In addition to participating in our meetings and committees we also want to encourage you to join our Listserv, as this is the primary way we communicate with our fellow officers. You may subscribe, I, or change your email address for the SOAGDAG Listserv: .

SOAGDAG Leadership
SOAGDAG Chair LCDR Dakota McMurray
SOAGDAG Vice Chair LCDR Madeline Mandap
SOAGDAG Secretary CDR Robert Kosko
SOAGDAG Senior Advisor CDR Jonathan White
SOAGDAG Immediate Past Chair CDR Jennifer Cockrill

SOAGDAG Committee Chairs
Awards Committee Chair LCDR Jaren Meldrum
Award Committee Co-Chair LT Regena Hardy
Communication Committee Chair LT Nathan Drew
Communications Committee Co-Chair LCDR Natasha Colmore

Membership Committeee Chair

CDR Luz Rivera

Membership Committee Co-Chair

LCDR Michael Bakker

Policy Committee Chair LCDR Patrick High
Policy Committee Co-Chair LT Lee Ryder
Social Committee Chair LCDR Angela McClendon
Social Committee Co-Chair LT Brian McAleney
Education & Training Committee Chair CDR Joe Rorabaugh-Irwin 
Education & Training Committee Co-Chair LT Delice Echols
Commissioned Officer Association (COA) CAPT Steve Morin

Helpful Links and  Information


OSG site launched!!!

This is the first RSS/News Feed for the osg site. What our feed for updates on our activities.

Tue, 17 Mar 2015 06:14:00 EST

Page Last Modified on 5/6/2022

You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

External Link Warning!