Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Therapist Professional Advisory Committee


Welcome to the Awards section on the TPAC webpage.  Here you will find useful information about awards issued to officers for their service to the Therapist Category.  There are two types of TPAC Awards:  Category Awards and Honor Awards 

    Therapist Responder of the Year Award

    The Therapist Responder of the Year was developed for the Therapist who has made outstanding achievements and contributions during their deployment as a Therapist in emergency preparedenss and disaster response to national or international public health threats

    Past Recipients

    • 2018 Jennifer Manning
    • 2017 Christina Eaker

    William Fromherz Award

    The William Fromherz Award is presented to a career officer in the Therapist Category who is recognized by his/her peers for outstanding contributions in clinical care, program development, administration, or a combination thereof. The officer is recognized for the positive impact his /her contributions have made on the health care profession, the officer's program, and/or the Commissioned Corps during his/her carer in the United States Public Health Service.

    The William Fromherz award was created in memory of CAPT William Fromherz whose career contributions and accomplishments so positively impacted on the programs to which he was assigned, the physical therapy profession he represented, and the USPHS Commissioned Corps he so proudly served.

    Past recipients of the William Fromherz Award

    • 2018 N/A
    • 2017 Jill Tillman
    • 2016 Ron West
    • 2015 Jeff Richardson
    • 2014 Michaele Smith

    Josef Hoog Award

    The Josef Hoog Award was developed to foster research and publication by members of the USPHS Therapist category. Papers reflect unpublished works.

    The Josef Hoog Award was created in memory of CAPT Josef Hoog, physical therapist, whose leadership advanced the PT and OT professions by promoting the use of objective clinical measures which provide a rich source of data for research. The award is intended to stimulate PHS therapists to participate in research and publish their results.

    Past recipients of the Josef Hoog Award

    • 2018 Michael McClain
    • 2017 Charles Rainey
    • 2016 Christina Eaker
    • 2014 David Byrne
    • 2014 Carlos Estevez

    Therapist of the Year Award

    The Therapist of the Year Award replaced the Therapist Clinician of the Year Award in 2006. This award is presented to a therapist who is recognized by his or her peers for outstanding contributions in leadership and advancement of public health.

    Past recipients of the Therapist of the Year Award

    • 2018 Molly Rutledge
    • 2017 Kathryn Jacques
    • 2016 Francine Barnett
    • 2015 Carlos Estevez
    • 2014 Matthew Armentano

      Therapist Junior Officer of the Year Award

      The Therapist Junior Officer of the Year Award is presented to a junior officer who is recognized by his or her peers for overall performance in the delivery of quality healthcare and outstanding contributions in the area of clinical healthcare/healthcare management.

      Past recipients of the Therapist Junior Officer of the Year Award

      • 2018 William Church
      • 2017 Charles Rainey
      • 2016 Lars Krusholm
      • 2015 Molly Rutledge
      • 2014 Chandra Preator

      Nomination Process

      Nominations for the therapist category awards must be submitted to the TPAC awards chairperson by 01 February of the corresponding year.

      Different elements are to be included in the nomination package for each award and are listed in pdf format files below.

      All nomination packages, except, the Josef Hoog Award, should include a brief narrative (1-2 pages) explaining how the therapist meets the award criteria, name of the nominee, PHS rank (for the William Fromherz and Junior Officer of the Year awards), professional discipline, Operating Division/Program, period covered, and appropriate signatures/endorsements. Please note: Nomination packages submitted for the William Fromherz Award from the previous year must be updated and have a new signature/endorsement page.

      Award nomination packages should be mailed to:

      • CDR Alice Hopper
      • Bureau of Prison's
      • United States Medical Center For Federal Prinsoners
      • Springfield, Mo.
      • E-mail:

      Once the nominations are received by the awards coordinator, a standard procedure [PDF - KB] will be followed to judge the nominations. Each award has an established set of judging criteria [PDF - KB] that will be used to evaluate the submissions for each award to select the recipients each

      Page Last Modified on 12/17/2019

      This page may require you to download plug-ins to view all content. Persons with disabilities having problems accessing any PDF or document on this page may call 1-888-225-3302 toll free for assistance.

      You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

      External Link Warning!