Commissioned Corps E-Bulletin
Nursing Professional Advisory Committee Announces Recipients of the
2010 Publication Awards and the Minnigerode Awards for Nursing Excellence
The Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service Nursing Professional Advisory Committee (N-PAC) would like to acknowledge the recipients of the 2010 Publication Awards and the Minnigerode Awards for Nursing Excellence (MANE). They were recognized at Nursing Recognition Day on 7 May 2010. Each recipient demonstrates resourcefulness and dedication to the mission of the Public Health Service and adds immense value to the art and science of nursing. These awards collectively recognize nurses whose professional and technical skills and competence continue to raise the quality of nursing. Please help us honor these outstanding nurses!

The three Publication Awards are presented annually to Department of Health and Human Services Commissioned Corps, Civil Service, or Tribal Direct Hire nurses who have either authored publications in the past 2 years or recently had work accepted for publication.

o The RADM Faye G. Abdellah Award recognizes nurses who stimulate the development of nursing knowledge and practice through scientific investigation and research. The 2010 award was presented to Dr. Sandra Mitchell of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD, for her publication, "Determinants of Functional Performance in Long-Term Survivors of Allogeneic Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation with Chronic Graft-Versus-Host Disease (cGVHD).”

o The RADM O. Marie Henry Publication Award for Clinical Nursing Practice recognizes nurses who author publications, highlighting clinical nursing practice. The 2010 award was presented to
LCDR Jacquin Jones and Mary Padzur, RN, MSN, CRNP, for their publication, “Vaccines, An Innovative Approach to Treating Cancer.”

o The RADM Julia R. Plotnick Publication Award for Health/Nursing Policy recognizes nurses authoring publications that inform and educate consumers and/or health care practitioners about significant health-related issues. The 2010 award was presented to CAPT Keian Weld, Office of the Secretary, Washington, DC, for his publication titled, “A Framework for Guiding Health Literacy Research in Populations with Universal Access to Health Care.”

The five MANE Awards are presented annually to HHS Commissioned Corps, Civil Service, or Tribal Direct Hire nurses who demonstrate outstanding nursing contributions with measurable benefits through innovation and creativity.

o The McLaughlin Award for Clinical Services recognizes exemplary leadership and skill resulting in noteworthy accomplishments as a clinician over a period of time focusing on the timely and ethical delivery of health care in a direct care setting. The provision of services improve health outcomes and/or services for patients/clients as well as enhance employee and/or patient/client relationships, productivity, quality, work methods and timeliness of health care delivery. The 2010 award was presented to CDR Larry Alonso of the Indian Health Services Cononcito Clinic in New Mexico, for his leadership and initiative while serving as the single Continuity of Care Provider and Acting Clinic Manager for the Cononcito Band of Navajo, known as To’Hajiilee, which has 2,000 residents and a registered population of nearly 6,000. CDR Alonso has demonstrated exceptional skill, knowledge and judgment in responding to numerous emergencies and challenges to the patients of the clinic, including the implementation of a process to follow-up with patients who had undergone laboratory and diagnostic tests, many of which were urgent or life-threatening. His efforts have vastly improved the care, and in some cases, saved the lives of the patients at Cononcito Clinic.

o The Hanzel Award for Administrative Activities recognizes exemplary leadership as a nurse executive that results in noteworthy accomplishments. The 2010 award was presented to
CDR Marie Casey for her outstanding organizational accomplishments which led to the creation of the Division of Recovery Audit Operations within the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services. CDR Casey’s leadership role in this innovative project led senior management to select her as the Deputy Director and her actions have resulted in unprecedented (greater than $1B) Medicare Trust Fund Savings which will help ensure that Medicare beneficiaries will continue to receive needed health care services.

o The Hasselmeyer Award for Research Initiatives is given to a nurse who demonstrates exemplary leadership resulting in noteworthy accomplishments in conducting nursing research and clinical investigation which stimulates the development of new knowledge and practice in nursing and/or health professions. The 2010 award was presented to LT Leorey Saligan of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD. LT Saligan is the principal investigator in three fatigue studies aiming to better understand the molecular-genetic mechanisms involved in fatigue in various patient populations. He has facilitated the formation and maintenance of collaborations among the National Institute for Learning Research (NINR), National Cancer Institute, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, Rehabilitation Department of the Clinical Center of the NIH, and the Rheumatology Department of Georgetown University Hospital in Washington, DC. His leadership in the formation of these collaborations paved the way to the development of his protocol, as well as facilitating the development of collaborations between other NINR investigators and investigators in other institutes. Additionally, his protocol format is now used as the template for all NINR protocols.

o The Petry Leone Award for Health Promotion and Education recognizes exemplary leadership as a nurse educator resulting in noteworthy accomplishments in patient/client or professional education, which informs and educates consumers and/or health care practitioners about significant health-related issues and promotes healthy lifestyles. The 2010 award was presented to
CAPT Karen Hench of the Health Resources and Services Administration, Rockville, MD, for her exemplary leadership and noteworthy accomplishments in conceptualizing, coordinating, creating, and disseminating important new HHS consumer, provider, and community tools to promote maternal wellness and reduce the risk of preventable adverse maternal, infant, and family behavioral health outcomes.

o The Gregg Group Award for Teamwork recognizes exemplary leadership contributions by nursing teams that result in noteworthy accomplishments and positive outcomes towards the attainment of HHS goals. The 2010 award was presented to CAPT (Ret.) Lauren Tancona, RN, BSN,
Marilyn Yellowman, RN, BSN, and Carol Dahozy, RN, MSN, of the Indian Health Service, Phoenix, AZ
, for their leadership in creating a multidisciplinary team for Tribal/State Sexually Transmitted Disease collaboration from October 2009 to February 2010. The collaboration had 53 attendees, including individuals from tribal communities in Arizona, Arizona State STD program, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Health Advisors, and Indian Health Service. The outcome of this collaboration will lead to a potential Request for Proposal from the Arizona State STD program for American Indian/Alaska Native communities.

Congratulations to all of these outstanding nurses!
Health and Human Services Public Health, Commissioned Corps Public Health, Commissioned Corps

HHS, Office of Public Health and Science
Office of Commissioned Corps Force Management
Tower Building
1101 Wootton Parkway, Plaza Level Suite 100
Rockville, MD 20852