E-Bulletin Logo
 Commissioned Corps Officer Veterinarian of the Year Award Call for Nominations
Deadline Date: 16 May 2008
Nominations are being sought for the Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service (Corps) Veterinarian of the Year Award. This award recognizes veterinarians whose professional careers and work performance have resulted in significant contributions to public health and to the mission of the Department of Health and Human Servicesí (HHS) Operating Divisions and Staff Divisions and those non-HHS organizations where Corps veterinarians serve. The award, established in 1997, will be presented at the Veterinary category All-Hands Meeting to be held in July 2008 at the American Veterinary Medical Association Annual Meeting in New Orleans, LA.

Nominees must be active duty officers in the Veterinary category. Corps veterinarians, supervisors, coworkers and peers as well as members of the Commissioned Officers Association, are encouraged to nominate deserving veterinarians for this competitive and prestigious award. Nominators do not have to be veterinarians or Corps officers. Nominations will be kept in strictest confidence. The selection will be made by an Awards Committee composed of senior Corps veterinarians.

Evaluation by the Awards Committee will be made based on the impact of the nominated officer's work in public health and veterinary professional communities.

Nominations will be judged on accomplishments in the following areas:
  • Support of the Department's mission;
  • Research/research support;
  • Publications;
  • Presentations;
  • Mentoring and teaching of junior staff; and
  • Service on committees/boards.

The nomination package should consist of the following:

  • Letter of nomination (no more than two pages);
  • Two letters of support for the nomination (no more than one page each); and
  • A copy of the officer's curriculum vitae.

The nomination package should be sent electronically to CDR Jennifer McQuiston at fzh7@cdc.gov by the close of business on Friday, 16 May 2008.

Current Issue Front Page