Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Environmental Health Officer Professional Advisory Committee

Logo of the EHOPAC
Quick Links: Newsletter / Listserv 

Environmental Health Officers (EHOs) in the Commissioned Corps ensure public health and safety in a variety of domestic and international roles. EHOs serve in several U.S. Public Health Service (PHS) agencies providing basic environmental health services. 

EHOs work assignments are diverse and numerous. Examples include epidemiological surveillance, disease prevention, radiological health, industrial hygiene, food safety, injury prevention and education, and emergency preparedness. During natural disasters and other emergencies, environmental health officers protect the public from environmental threats and help communities recover. As part of a committed cadre of approximately 350 EHOs, you will enjoy leadership opportunities, excellent benefits, and work/life balance, all while protecting and improving the health of the Nation.  

Got any questions?To increase participation across the category we created an anonymous Q&A website to capture questions and/or concerns you may be hesitant to ask. During each of our open meetings after the CPO Report, we will answer questions posed to this website during the previous quarter. Please take this opportunity to let us know what is on your mind.This link goes to an external website


Page Last Modified on 5/30/2019

This page may require you to download plug-ins to view all content. Persons with disabilities having problems accessing any PDF or document on this page may call 1-888-225-3302 toll free for assistance.

You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

External Link Warning!