Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Pharmacist Professional Advisory Committee


RDML Kelly Battese has served in multiple leadership positions throughout his career. His passion for pharmacists leading inside and outside of traditional pharmacy roles has shaped his career and his desire for pharmacy leadership development and mentoring.
RDML Battese currently serves in the Indian Health Service (I.H.S) as the Chief Executive Officer for the Haskell Indian Health Center. He started his career with Indian Health Service (I.H.S) as a clinical pharmacist with the Haskell Indian Health Center in Lawrence, Kansas. His work ethic and leadership skills have transitioned him into several leadership positions within the I.H.S Oklahoma City Area. He moved on to serve as the chief pharmacist of the White Cloud Health Station in White Cloud, Kansas, and assumed the chief executive officer duties for that facility. Looking to further his knowledge and leadership skills he transferred to the Claremore Indian Hospital where he served as the ambulatory care director and later as the hospital’s administrative officer. These positions and experiences led him to his current position as Chief Executive Officer.
RDML Battese served on Rapid Deployment Force 4 (RDF4) for fourteen years in a variety of roles eventually leading the team as team commander. His extensive deployment history includes border missions, hurricane responses, and Remote Area Medical (RAM) missions. Recently he has served as the vice-chair for the National Council of Chief Executive Officers and currently, RDML Battese serves on the National Council of Chief Executive Officers, the I.H.S National Commissioned Corps Awards Board, is faculty for the I.H.S Pharmacy Leadership Training course as well as a member of the I.H.S Health IT Modernization executive committee.
RDML Battese was the recipient of the 2012 Outstanding Senior Pharmacist of the Year Award for the Oklahoma City Area I.H.S. In 2019 he received the Chief Executive Officers Award from the I.H.S Direct Service Tribes Advisory Committee as well as an I.H.S Director’s Award. RDML Battese received his Bachelor of Arts in biology from Tabor College, a Masters of Business Administration in health care from Southern Nazarene University and Doctorate of Pharmacy from the University of Kansas.
He has been happily married to Rachel for 19 years and has three children, Alayna, Natalie, and Tanner. He enjoys spending time with family and friends and as much time as possible in the outdoors.

Past Chief Pharmacy Officers


RADM Ty Bingham
2018 - 2022


RADM Pamela Schweitzer
2014 - 2018


RADM Scott Giberson
2010 - 2014


RADM Robert Pittman
2006 - 2010


RADM Richard Walling
2001 - 2005


RADM Fred Paavola
1996 - 2000


RADM Richard Bertin
1992 - 1996


RADM Richard Church
1987 - 1992


RADM Richard Ashbaugh
1981 - 1987


RADM Allen Brands
1967 - 1981


CAPT George Archambault
1959 - 1967

Page Last Modified on 2/15/2023

This page may require you to download plug-ins to view all content. Persons with disabilities having problems accessing any PDF or document on this page may call 1-888-225-3302 toll free for assistance.

You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

External Link Warning!