Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Pharmacist Professional Advisory Committee

2019 Past Award Winners

USPHS Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Award

This prestigious award recognizes pharmacy students who have made significant contributions to public health by promoting wellness and healthy communities.  Specifically, students are evaluated on their contributions towards voluntary health related services, an emerging public health issue, or contributions that advance the goals of Health People 2030 or the National Prevention Strategy. 

Today we face increasing public health crises in America evidenced by the rise of obesity, diabetes, and cardiovascular disease.  With the advent of these public health issues, pharmacy students can play an important role in finding innovative ways to address these challenges.  Therefore, the USPHS would like to recognize and encourage students to learn about public health and engage in public health efforts in their communities.   

The Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy award is issued by the Pharmacist Professional Advisory Committee (PharmPAC) of the United States Public Health Service (USPHS).  The USPHS is led by the Surgeon General and is made up of more than 6,700 Commissioned Corps officers that work on the front lines of public health – fighting disease, conducting research, and caring for patients in underserved communities.  This diverse team of highly-qualified healthcare professionals is driven by a passion to serve the underserved, and these men and women fill essential public health leadership and clinical service roles within the Nation’s Federal Government. 

Now accepting award nominations for the 2020 Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Award - Nominations due by December 31, 2019!

USPHS PharmPAC Chair Letter

USPHS PharmPAC Student Award Information Sheet

USPHS PharmPAC Student Award Application

2019 Award Recipients

    We recognized 76 pharmacy students from across the country as award recipients in 2019.  Of those, we selected ten top award recipients for their public health work that positively impacted their local communities and beyond. Click on the top award recipient's photo to learn about their public health work:

    Student Award Recipient

    Jacquelyn Bradley
    University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy

    Student Award Recepient

    Saleena Brownell
    Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy

    Student Award Recipient

    Emily Diseroad
    University of Maryland Eastern Shore School of Pharmacy

    Student Award Recipient

    Shelly Kearns
    Bradenton School of Pharmacy at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine


    Brianne Elizabeth Mosley
    Raabe College of Pharmacy at Ohio Northern University

    Student Award Recipient

    Rachel Peaytt
    University of Charleston School of Pharmacy


    Liesl Reyes
    School of Pharmacy at Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences


    Anhao Sam
    California Northstate University College of Pharmacy


    Kelli Sims
    University of North Texas System College of Pharmacy

    Student Award Recipient

    Aminda Skan
    Idaho State University College of Pharmacy (Anchorage Campus)

    Page Last Modified on 4/29/2020

    This page may require you to download plug-ins to view all content. Persons with disabilities having problems accessing any PDF or document on this page may call 1-888-225-3302 toll free for assistance.

    You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

    External Link Warning!