Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Black Commissioned Officers Advisory Group

George I. Lythcott

The George I. Lythcott Award was established by the Black Commissioned Officers Advisory Group (BCOAG) in 1996. This award is to recognize a junior officer who demonstrates a genuine sense of public service and leadership initiative, and whose contributions helped to protect, promote, and advance the health and safety of our Nation.

RADM George I. Lythcott, M.D. (1918-1995) was a former Assistant Commissioner of Health in New York City. As Assistant Commissioner of Health, RADM Lythcott was in charge of the Health Department's Bureau of Schoolchildren’s and Adolescent Health. RADM Lythcott was appointed as an Assistant Surgeon General and administrator of the Health Services Administration in the Department of Health and Human Services in 1977 by President Jimmy Carter. RADM Lythcott was an exceptional public servant who in the 1960s helped West African countries eradicate smallpox and measles. Public Health Service (PHS) officers (Grades O-2, O-3, or O-4) with a minimum of three (3) years of service in the Corps are eligible for this award.

George I. Lythcott Award Recipients
Name of Recipient
LCDR Andrew Gentles
2018 LCDR Felicia Warren
2017 LCDR NaTaha Hollis
2016 LCDR Eleanor Fleming
2015 LCDR Emily Dokubo
2014 LCDR Timothy Cunningham
2013 LCDR Ericka Murray
2012 LCDR Latasha Allen
2010 LCDR Carol Ivy Simmons
2007 LCDR Stephanie Burrell
2005 LCDR Anita E. Pollard
2003 LCDR Akilah Green

Page Last Modified on 2/5/2020

This page may require you to download plug-ins to view all content. Persons with disabilities having problems accessing any PDF or document on this page may call 1-888-225-3302 toll free for assistance.

External Link Warning!

//Prevent the back button history.go(1);