Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Health Services Officer Professional Advisory Committee

2020 HSPAC Recruitment & Retention Subcommittee

Subcommittee Charge

The Recruitment & Retention Subcommittee is responsible for the following:

  • Monitor and administer the Health Services Applicant Placement Program for the Health Services Officer (HSO) Category.
  • Present progress report at each Health Services Professional Advisory Committee (HSPAC) meeting.
  • Maintain HSO welcome packet, Recruitment & Retention (R & R), Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) and HSO Website R & R section.
  • Highlight relevant updates and available statistics on R & R activities.
  • Support the retention of officers returned to service (RTS) or vulnerable to be RTS.

Subcommittee Goals

The Recruitment & Retention Subcommittee possesses the following goals:

  • Support the current operation of the Health Services Assignment Placement Program (HSAAP) and collaborate with various liaisons in successful placement of HSOs who were return to service.
  • Collaborate with the DCCPR Recruitment office to align our recruitment and retention activities.
  • Finalized the approval of the R & R SOP, HSO welcome packet and HSO brochure.
  • Present Part II of the “Retaining HSO during Difficult Times” with comparative analysis and senior HSO officer panels.
  • Collaborate with all Health Services Professional Advisory Groups to produce a unified retention survey.
  • Share evidence base survey results to all HSO officers through brown bag sessions.

Executive Team

Role Name Agency Email
Chair CDR Martin Guardia FDA martin.guardia@fda.hhs.gov
Co-Chair CDR Monique Salter FDA monique.salter@fda.hhs.gov
Executive Secretary LT Keasha Myrick IHS keasha.Myrick@ihs.gov

Agency Liaisons

Liaison Name Agency Email
ACF LNO Vacant ACF  
BOP LNO LCDR Harold White BOP

h1white@bop.gov

CDC LNO CDR Yonette Hercules CDC

xhn6@cdc.gov

CMS LNO Vacant CMS
DoD LNO Vacant DoD
DHS LNO LCDR Tonya Johnican DHS

tonya.s.johnican@ice.dhs.gov 

FDA LNO CAPT Kristin Kelly FDA

Kristin.kelly@fda.hhs.gov

HRSA LNO LCDR LaMar Henderson HRSA

LHenderson@hrsa.gov

IHS LNO LT Veronica Hernandez IHS

veronica.hernandez@ihs.gov

NPS LNO CDR George Larsen NPS

george_larsen@nps.gov

USDA LNO CAPT Malaysia Gresham-Harrell USDA malaysia.harrell@fsis.usda.gov 
VA CAPT Jill Breitbach VA jill.breitbach@va.gov

PAG Liaisons

Liaison Name Agency Email
BASPAG FDA
DHPAG LCDR Miranda Shropshire BOP

mshropshire@bop.gov

HAPAG CDR Seneca Smith IHS

seneca.smith@ihs.gov

HITPAG LCDR Leatrice Begay IHS

Leatrice.Begay@ihs.gov

MLSPAG LT Angela Hatzenbuhler BOP

ahatzenbuhler@bop.gov

OPAG CDR Sarah Stienbarger IHS

SStienbarger@SouthcentralFoundation.com

PAPAG LT Sherray Holland DOD

sherray.l.holland.mil@mail.mil

LCDR Stephanie Hoover BOP

S1hoover@bop.gov

PHPAG LCDR Ellen Gee FDA

Ellen.Gee@fda.hhs.gov

PsyPAG LCDR Brendam Eberenz BOP

beberenz@bop.gov

SWPAG CDR Robert Van Meir ICE

robert.e.vanmeir@ice.dhs.gov

Recruitment & Retention Workgroups

Committee Role Name Agency Email
Health Services Assignment Assistance Program

Lead

Co-lead

CDR Shane Sims

CDR Babatunde Oloyede

HHS

Shane.Sims@hhs.gov

Welcome Packet/CAT Webinar Lead LCDR Shannon Aldrich FDA

shannon.aldrich@fda.hhs.gov

Candidate Application Tracking Working Group Lead CDR Avi Stein ASPR

Avi.stein@hhs.gov

Co-Lead CDR Deborah Bishop
Communications/Website Lead LCDR Kate Morris BOP

kemorris@bop.gov

Policy Lead LCDR Neal Kimble BOP 

nkimble@bop.gov

Data and Analytics

Lead

Co-lead

CDR Irina Gaberman

LCDR Nicole Pascua

DHS

NIH

Irina.Gaberman@fda.hhs.gov

nicole.pascua@nih.gov

OBC Support Lead LCDR Nicole Pascua NIH

nicole.pascua@nih.gov

Page Last Modified on 7/11/2020

This page may require you to download plug-ins to view all content. Persons with disabilities having problems accessing any PDF or document on this page may call 1-888-225-3302 toll free for assistance.

You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

External Link Warning!