Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Scientist Professional Advisory Committee

SciPAC Voting Membership

The SciPAC is comprised of 20 voting members, including four members of the SciPAC Executive Board.  Voting members represent a cross-section of the disciplines, interests, concerns and responsibilities of scientific professionals in Agencies, Operating Divisions, and Programs that are staffed by U.S. Public Health Service personnel.  The term of appointment for SciPAC voting members is 3 years.  Members are expected to participate in monthly SciPAC general meetings and to serve as a chair or co-chair of one of SciPAC’s eleven subcommittees during their term.

Becoming a Member

SciPAC members provide advice and consultation to the Office of the Surgeon General and to the Scientist Chief Professional Officer on professional and personnel issues.  The SciPAC Charter requires committee representation by agency, gender, race, professional discipline, years of professional experience, geographical location (i.e., whether stationed locally in the metropolitan Washington, D.C. area or from other areas), and both personnel systems (Commissioned Corps and Civil Service). Membership requires approval from the Agency, Chief Scientist Officer, and Surgeon General.

Each year nominations are sought to fill vacancies.  The SciPAC meets every month via teleconference, so travel is not required for membership.  Commissioned Corps and civil service scientists who are interested in serving on the SciPAC are encouraged to respond to the annual call for self-nomination.  New appointment terms begin on September 1 of each year.

2019-2020 SciPAC Organization Chart

2019-2020 SciPAC Voting Members
Officer Role Agency
Executive Board
CDR Loren Rodgers Chair CDC
LCDR Jason Wilken Vice Chair; Rules & Membership, Chair CDC
CAPT Jennifer Thomas Ex Officio Chairperson CDC
LCDR Alice Shumate Executive Secretary CDC
CDR Kamil Barbour COF Liaison CDC
Subcommittee Chairs and Co-chairs
CDR James Kenney Awards Subcommittee, Chair FDA
CDR Zewditu Demissie* Awards Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
LCDR Tyann Blessington Career Development Subcommittee, Chair FDA
CDR Eric Zhou Career Development Subcommittee, Co-Chair NIH
LCDR Rory Geyer* Career Development Subcommittee, Co-Chair FDA
CDR Deborah Dee Category Day, Chair CDC
LCDR Oliver Ou Category Day, Co-Chair USDA
CDR Lana Rossiter Mentoring Subcommittee, Chair FDA
LCDR Virginia (Ginny) Bowen Mentoring Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
LCDR Shayne Gallaway* Mentoring Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
CDR Adam Bjork Policy Subcommittee, Chair CDC
LCDR Matthew Steele* Policy Subcommittee, Co-Chair FDA
LCDR Elizabeth Irvin-Barnwell Readiness Subcommittee, Chair CDC
LCDR Angela Thompson-Paul* Readiness Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
LCDR Rebecca Levine* Readiness Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
LCDR Jonathan Leshin Recruitment and Retention Subcommittee, Chair FDA
LCDR Debra Chen Recruitment and Retention Subcommittee, Co-Chair BOP
LCDR Alaine Knipes* Recruitment and Retention Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
CDR Dan-My Chu* Rules & Membership Subcommittee, Co-Chair FDA
LCDR Eric Jamoom Science Subcommittee, Chair DHS
CDR David Huang Science Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
LCDR Teresa Wang* Science Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
LCDR Iram Hassan Visibility Subcommittee, Chair FDA
LCDR Colleen Scott* Visibility Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
LT Ruth Link-Gelles* Visibility Subcommittee, Co-Chair CDC
CDR Adrienne Goodrich-Doctor Website Subcommittee, Chair FDA
LCDR Xinzhi Zhang Website Subcommittee, Co-Chair NIH

2019-2020 SciPAC Liaisons
Officer Role Agency 
LCDR Folasade Kembi* COA Liaison CDC
LCDR Gwendolyn Hudson* JOAG Liaison DHS
CDR Erika Odom* PACE Liaison CDC
CDR Sara Pulliam* PSYPAG Liaison DOD
CDR Luis Iturriaga* SOAGDAG Liaison DHS
CDR Cesar Perez* MOLC Liaison FDA
LT Marissa Zwald* CCWIAB** Liaison CDC

BOP: Bureau of Prisons
CDC: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
DHS: Department of Homeland Security
DOD: Department of Defense
FDA: Food and Drug Administration
NIH: National Institutes of Health
OS: Office of the Secretary (Department of Health and Human Services)
USDA: United States Department of Agriculture
*not a current SciPAC voting member
**Commissioned Corps' Women's Issues Advisory Board (CCWIAB)

Page Last Modified on 7/17/2020

This page may require you to download plug-ins to view all content. Persons with disabilities having problems accessing any PDF or document on this page may call 1-888-225-3302 toll free for assistance.

You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

External Link Warning!