Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Dietitian Professional Advisory Committee

Home

Welcome to the

Dietitian Professional Advisory Committee

The service of dietitians in the United States Public Health Service dates back to the year 1919. During that year, the first dietetic section was organized in the PHS Division of Hospitals which operated a medical care program for American seamen. These hospitals were primarily located in port cities with in-patient capacities ranging from about 100 to 1,000 beds.

Today PHS dietitians may serve in either the Commissioned Corps or the Civil Service personnel system. Presently, there are approximately 100 Commissioned Officers and over 400 Civil Service dietitians serving in the PHS. Regardless of the assignment, their competence and skills are well utilized in advancing the objectives of the organizations they serve.

Dietitians serve in a variety of government agencies such as: Bureau of PrisonsCenters for Disease Control and PreventionCenters for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Department of DefenseFood and Drug AdministrationHealth Resources and Services AdministrationIndian Health ServiceNational Institutes of Health, the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, and the United States Department of Agriculture.  Dietitians serving in these organizations are involved in diverse areas including research, clinical nutrition, food service administration, program planning and evaluation, health facility inspections, regulatory oversight and public health nutrition. In addition, dietitians are prepared and ready to respond to emergency situations, such as the 9-11 Terrorist Attacks, Anthrax Attacks, Haiti Earthquake, and other natural disasters or unforeseen incidents.

As science continues to substantiate the importance of food and nutrition in relation to health, dietitians will play an even greater role in the continuing history of the profession in the United States Public Health Service.

PHS dietitians proudly serving under the flag of the United States Public Health Service have made, and will continue to make, major contributions to the health of the nation.

Diet PAC Executive Officers:

Chief Professional Officer  

CAPT Susan Gordon Chief Professional Officer

CAPT Suzan Gordon

Diet PAC Chair Chair-Elect Executive Secretary
DietPAC-Coin.png DietPAC-Coin.png LT Martin-Braswell

CDR Deirdra Holloway

CDR Heather Dimeris

LT Lusi Martin-Braswell

Diet PAC Subcommittees:

Awards and Recognition

LT Brenda Riojas

Brenda.Riojas@ihs.gov

Events

LCDR Ellen Yip

Ellen.Yip@fda.hss.gov

Information Management

LCDR Stephanie Magill

Stephanie.Magill@cms.hhs.gov

Mentoring

CAPT Chris Dunbar

Christopher.Dunbar@cms.hhs.gov

Policy and Procedures

CDR Heather Dimeris

HDimeris@hrsa.gov

Professional Development

CDR Mitchel Holliday

MHolliday@bop.gov

Readiness and Deployment

LCDR Tara Lemons

Tara.Lemons@cms.hhs.gov

Recruitment and Retention

LCDR Patricia Ellis

LCDR Samantha Smith

Patricia.Ellis@fda.hhs.gov

Samantha.Smith@ihs.gov

Technology

LCDR Courtney Drevo

Courtney.Drevo@fda.hhs.gov

Wellness

LT Kimberlea Gibbs

KGibbs@hrsa.gov


Website Feedback and Suggestions?: E-mail

Updates

Fri, 19 Jan 2018 13:42:00 EST

Kudos to the RDs of the USPHS for their work helping Americans affected by Hurricane Harvey!

Representing here are CDR Deirdra Holloway, MS, RD and LCDR Stephanie Magill, MS, RD of the USPHS preparing the supplies for the nutrition support the the HHS Federal Medical Station in Houston. Thank you all for helping our fellow citizens in need. We send our best wishes to everyone affected in TX and LA.

Thu, 30 Nov 2017 11:57:00 EST

Page Last Modified on 5/15/2019

You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

External Link Warning!