Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service

Junior Officer Advisory Group

Awards Committee

JOAG Awards Committee Informational Flyer


The Awards Committee meets every other month on 3rd Tuesday from 1300-1400 EST, unless there is a conflict due to a holiday or unforseen conflict arises. 

The dial in information, WebEx link, and meeting agenda is sent to all Awards Committee members.

The responsibilities of the JOAG Awards Committee include:

  1. Solicit, review, and recommend awardees of all JOAG awards.
  2. Review annually the criteria, scoring system, and nomination forms for all JOAG awards.
  3. Develop, maintain, and review the awards program for JOAG.
  4. Remain informed of changes to the USPHS Commissioned Corps Awards System and be a resource for junior officers by explaining how these changes may affect them.
  5. Serve as resource, advisor, and support to the JOAG Executive Committee and USPHS senior officers on any issues related to awards as they pertain to junior officers.
  6. Generate and track Special Assignment Award (SAA) nominations for JOAG voting members meeting eligibility requirements.
  7. Maintain recognition process (i.e. Letter of Appreciation, plaques) for active JOAG participants and advisors.
  8. Review committee structure and SOP annually to ensure they are up to date and adequate for the committee's functions.
  9. Maintain the Awards Committee section of the JOAG website.

Mission: To facilitate the awards process and recognize junior officers for their accomplishments and commitment to the mission of the U.S. Public Health Service.

If you're interested in being involved in shaping the future of JOAG through the Awards Committee, please contact the Chairs.

2022-2023 Awards Committee Leadership 
Roles Name/Email


LCDR Fengyee Zhou 


LCDR Rachel McBride

JOAG Awards Process Subcommittee

LCDR Abby McCabe

Carmona Award Subcommittee

LCDR Brendan Eberenz

Carmona Award  Subcommittee

LCDR Salvatore Pepe

Koop Award Subcommitee

LCDR Alena Korbut

Koop Award  Subcommittee

LCDR Maria Agresta Workman

Junior Officer of the Year Subcommittee

LCDR Danielle Baquero

Junior Officer of the Year Subcommittee

LCDR Martin Newton

Excellence Award Subcommitee

LCDR Michelle Barbosa

Excellence Award Subcommittee 

LT Brett Dodd

SOP  Subcommittee

LCDR Jessica Dunn

SOP  Subcommittee

LT Chiazor Eziakor

JOAG Recognition Subcommittee

LCDR Evelyn Hong

JOAG Recognition Subcommittee

LT Leah Weiss

Special Assignment Award Subcommittee

LCDR Dustin Tran


LCDR Diane Weidley


LCDR Matthew Deraedt

EC Liaison

LCDR Michelle Lin

Page Last Modified on 10/17/2022

This page may require you to download plug-ins to view all content. Persons with disabilities having problems accessing any PDF or document on this page may call 1-888-225-3302 toll free for assistance.

You will be automatically logged out in , losing any unsaved work. Any movement detected within the screen will allow you more time.

External Link Warning!